Persuasive Blog

As an only child, I became very proficient at being persuasive with my parents. To add to that I am the child of a divorced family. I learned all the tricks to persuade them to my wants or needs.  My son also has picked up these skills to persuade myself to his way of thinking or something that he wants. I do believe that it is an inherent skill that all children pick up from infancy. Call it survival or getting on your parents’ nerves. It works!

I learned a plethora of skills to persuade things to my way. Slight hints placed in strategic places in conversation was a great skill. What I was trying to persuade them to do or get me was never too far from their minds.  I found tears were a very good persuasive skill, but I never took a fit like I witness kids doing today, but would not use them too much.  I didn’t want to hurt them. As I got older I found that sitting down and talking to them and stating my case would work if it was something that made sense or was a viable. You start to understand you can’t get everything you want the older you get. But then your own child starts to try their persuasive skills and the whole cycle starts again. And no matter how bad ass you think you are, it is always hard to say no to a persuasive child.

The art of persuasion is a skill; Sometimes I think it is a survival skill. We all use it in our daily life. As easy as getting someone to say yes is a persuasive skill. Sometimes we have to work at it, sometimes we don’t.  Helen, Can I persuade you for a great mark?

Leave a Reply

