Shitty First Drafts

“Shitty First Drafts” , from the title of the article I knew I was going to enjoy it.  My first impression was that it was going to be funny, and I was right. The article made me think back to my school days years ago, and the plethora of shitty first drafts I wrote. And how difficult back then it was to write first drafts.

Today we have all the luxuries of computers, Microsoft Word, the internet to help us along in our writing. It is easy to correct mistakes, as we are told where we went wrong almost instantaneously. You can even buy programs that help your writing to  be more in-depth. Gosh, I hope they work and I didn’t waste my money. So correcting your first draft is dramatically different than when I first went to school.

First drafts for me years ago was done with pen and paper. You had that ever-present ink stain on the edge of your hand where you rubbed while you wrote. Liquid Paper was in high demand….and not just to sniff.  Scratched out words and sentences were common places. You were hoping that whoever reviewed your work could read it and decipher what was scribbled on the paper. Once you were reviewed and ready for the next copy, the dreaded typewriter was used.  You prayed that you did not make a mistake in typing because you would have to start over again. I personally killed a few forests with my essays. The lucky ones were the students whose Mom’s would do the typing for them.

I look forward to doing first drafts today, save them, correct them, transfer them from one drive to another. Wow….technology how I love you!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

